## Message from the General Co-Chairs

With great pleasure we welcome you to the 12th edition of COMSNETS to be held from January 7-11, 2020 in Bengaluru. Over the past decade COMSNETS has grown in strength and popularity and the 12th edition promises to be the largest yet. COMSNETS 2020 will have an exciting five-day program at its traditional venue, The Chancery Pavilion, Bengaluru.

The main conference spans over three days from January 8 through January 10 and it is adjoined by two days of workshops before and after the main conference days. The first conference day will begin with two keynote speeches from two research leaders from the academia: Carla-Fabiana Chiasserini from Politecnico di Torino, Italy, and Gerhard P. Fettweis from TU-Dresden, Germany. The second day, January 9 will start with a newly-introduced fireside chat with the two COMSNETS lifetime achievement awardees! On the second day, we will also have a distinguished banquet speaker in the evening: Rahul Mangharam, from University of Pennsylvania, USA. On the third day of the main conference, we will have two distinguished keynote speakers from the industry: Sriram Rajamani. From Microsoft Research, India, and Saravanan Radhakrishnan, CISCO, India.

The main conference program is organized by the Technical Program Committee (TPC) co-chairs, Sandip Chakraborty, Ashutosh Dutta, and JeongGil Ko. They, along with the TPC, have carefully selected 43 papers from the open call for presentation. Furthermore, they have assembled invited talks by 11 well-known research leaders from the academia and the industry: Claudio Casetti (Politecnico di Torino, Italy), Veena Mendiratta (Nokia Bell-Labs, USA), and Sumit Roy (University of Washington, Seatle, USA) on January 8, Simone Silvestri (University of Kentucky, USA), Nirmalya Roy (University of Maryland, Baltimore County, USA), Sanjay Jha (University of New South Wales, Australia), and Supratik Mukhopadhyay (Louisiana State University, USA) on January 9, and Krishna Sivalingam (IIT Madras, India), Salil Kanhere (University of New South Wales, Australia), Hrishikesh B Acharya (Rochester Institute of Technology, USA), and Vishnu Navda (Microsoft Research, USA) on January 10.

The conference program includes poster sessions organized by SaiDhiraj Amuru and Nabanita Das, technology demos and research exhibits organized by Amit Kumar Saha and Kuldeep Yadav, panel discussions across all the three main conference days, organized by Monisha Ghosh, Pamela Kumar, and R. K. Pathak, student research mentoring sessions organized by Abhishek Appaji and Swarup Kumar Mohalik, and graduate forum organized by Alok Ranjan and T. Venkatesh. Besides, the 2020 edition of the conference will have a newly-introduced Women-in-Engineering session on January 8, organized by Pamela Kumar, Soma Pandey, and Divya M G. These activities will provide attendees diverse ways to participate, and truly demonstrate our commitment to fostering wider participation by the students and young researchers.

The organization of the conference is supported by the publicity co-chairs Joongheon Kim, Joe Novak, and Sushmita Ruj, publications co-chairs Bivas Mitra and Mainack Mondal, awards and honors co-chairs Animesh Mukherjee and Jeffrey Tew, travel grants chair S.V.R Anand, IT chair Ananda Krishna, web chair Madhumita Mallick, registration co-chairs Chandrika Sridhar, Ashwini Sampath, and Rajeswari Maitra, operations chair Sudipta Maitra, and finance and local arrangements co-chairs Raj Sharma and Chandrika Sridhar.

The main conference is adjoined by six workshops: MINDS workshop organized by Vijay Gabale and Prasant Misra, Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) workshop organized by Bhargava Rama Chilukuri and Tarun Rambha, LastMileS workshop organized by C Ashwin Ashok and Seshan Srirangarajan, Cyber Security and blockchain workshop organized by Giridhar Mandyam and Prashant Pillai, NetHealth workshop organized by Dayaprasad G Kulkarni and Abu Saquib Tauheed, and IMOBILE AIMS workshop

organized by Sandip Chakraborty, Prasant Misra, and Amit Kumar Saha. The entire group of workshops have been overseen by the workshop chairs Vijay Gabale and Prashant Misra. Additionally, COMSJOB is also being organized, which is a focused event that seeks to bring together top companies in the field with the best and brightest students (BTech, MTech, PhD, and Post-Doc). COMSJOB aims to assist with both open full-time positions, and as well as fixed-duration internships.

Our sponsorship chairs, Giridhar Mandyam and Rajeev Shorey have managed to raise a record sponsorship amount for the conference thanks to generous support from our corporate patrons: gold patrons Cisco Systems and Murty Foundation, silver patrons Microsoft Research, Qualcomm, Google, and IEEE Future Networks, bronze patrons Science and Engineering Research Board (Government of India), Singapore Management University (SMU), Robert Bosch GmbH, Tejas Networks, ARISTA Networks, InnAccell, B.M.S. College of Engineering (BMSCE), and IEEE Bangalore Section. We are also thankful to our humanitarian non-profit partner Aarogya Seva. We are grateful to our technical partners Tata Consultancy Services (TCS) and TSDSI, conference WiFi partner ARISTA Networks, video partner VideoKen, publication partner Elsevier, and our university partners: Indian Institute of Science, IIT Delhi, IIT Bombay, IIT Hyderabad, IIT Kharagpur, IIT Madras, IIT Kanpur, IIIT Hyderabad, IIIT Delhi, IIIT Bangalore, DA-IICT, BMSCE, UPenn – USA, SMU – Sungapore, and KAIST – South Korea. We are also thankful to our international advisory committee, Tulika Pandey, B. M. Baveja, Geeta Kathpalia, Pamela Kumar, Prashant Pillai, and Dah Ming Chiu. The success of a conference requires hard work from a number of volunteers and we express our appreciation and thanks to them. COMSNETS 2020 is technically co-sponsored by the IEEE, IEEE Communications Society, IEEE Future Networks, and IEEE Bangalore Section, and is presented in-cooperation with ACM SIGCOMM, ACM SIGMOBILE, Digital India, ITRA, Science and Engineering Research Board (Government of India), Department of Telecommunications (Government of India), and the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (Government of India). The travel grants provided by ACM SIGCOMM, ACM SIGMOBILE, LRN Foundation, and the COMSNETS Association enabled many students to attend the conference. We are grateful to all of these organizations for their support.

Last but not the least, we thank our steering committee, Uday Desai, Giridhar Mandyam, Rajeev Shorey, and G. Venkatesh. We would especially like to call out the dedication of Giridhar Mandyam and Rajeev Shorey, who go above and beyond the work of steering committee and dedicate their heart and soul in sustaining and improving COMSNETS year after year.



Swades De

IIT Delhi, India



Falko Dressler
University of Paderborn,
Germany



Vijay Raghunathan
Purdue University, USA