## Message from the General Co-Chairs

With great pleasure we welcome you to the 14<sup>th</sup> edition of COMSNETS to be held from January 3<sup>rd</sup> to 8<sup>th</sup>, 2022 as a hybrids event both online and in Bengaluru. Over the past decade COMSNETS has grown in strength and popularity and the 14<sup>th</sup> edition promises to be the largest yet. COMSNETS 2022 will have an exciting five-day program at its traditional venue, The Chancery Pavilion, Bengaluru while also being streamed online.

**Keynotes:** The main conference spans over three days from January 5 through January 7 and it is adjoined by two days of workshops and tutorials before and after the main conference days. The first conference day will begin with two keynote speeches from two research leaders from the academia: Professor Lili Qiu from University of Texas at Austin and Professor Dina Katabi from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. The second day, January 6 will include a keynote talk from Professor Rajesh Sundaresan from IISc Bangalore and a fireside chat with Professor Arogyaswami Paulraj. On the third day of the main conference, we will have three distinguished keynote speakers from the industry: Mr. Chris Galliano from Skymount Medical Group, Dr. Arpan Pal from TCS Research, and Mr. Pramod Badjate from Arista Networks. Finally, we will end with a keynote from Professor Ellen Zegura from Georgia Institute of Technology.

Conference Program: The main conference program is organized by the Technical Program Committee (TPC) co-chairs, Swarun Kumar, Sharayu Moharir, and Amit Saha. They, along with the TPC, have carefully selected 47 papers from the open call for presentation. Furthermore, they have assembled invited talks by 11 well-known research leaders from the academia and the industry: Ana Aguiar (University of Porto), Avishek Chatterjee (IIT Madras), Sreelakshmi Manjunath (IIT Mandi), Sudip Misra (IIT Kharagpur), Supratik Mukhopadhyay (Louisana State University) Srinivas Narayana (Rutgers University), Neeraja Sahasrabudhe (IISER Mohali), Arunesh Sinha (Singapore Management University), Elahe Soltanaghai (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign), Koji Yatani (The University of Tokyo), Xia Zhou (Dartmouth College).

The conference program includes workshops organised by Nadeem Akhtar and Dheryta Jaisinghani, tutorial organised by Azeem Khan, Niranjini Rajagopal, and Rahul Singh, poster sessions organized by Rajalakshmi Nandakumar, K. P. Naveen, and Rohit Verma, technology demos and research exhibits organized by Kaustubh Dhondge, Soma Pandey, and Alok Ranjan, panel discussions across all the three main conference days, organized by Dinesh Bharadia, Suparna Bhattacharya, Laxmi Mukund, Tulika Pandey, a graduate forum organized by Madhumita Mallick and Ritesh Singh, and the Women-in-Engineering event organized by Veena Mendiratta and D. N. Sujatha. These activities will provide attendees diverse ways to participate, and truly demonstrate our commitment to fostering wider participation by the students and young researchers.

The organization of the conference is supported by the publicity co-chairs Nova Ahmed, Ashwin Ashok, Amitalok Budkuley, Jun Han, Ade Melita, Bindoo Srivastava, and Connie Man-Ching Yuen, publications co-chairs Divya M. G, and Mainack Mondal, awards and honors co-chairs Animesh Mukherjee and Jeffrey Tew, travel grants chair Rohit Verma, IT chair Ananda Krishna, web chair Bishakh Ghosh, registration co-chairs Chandrika Sridhar, and Ashwini Sampath, and finance and local arrangements co-chairs Raj Sharma and Chandrika Sridhar.

**Workshops and Tutorials:** The main conference is adjoined by six workshops: MINDS workshop organized by Manjesh Hanawal and Sirisha Rambhatla, Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) workshop organized by Yash Vardhan Pant and Digvijay Sampatrao Pawar, LastMileS workshop organized by Mukulika Maity and Chetna Singhal, Cyber Security and Privacy Workshop organized by

Yuval Elovici and Sachin Lodha, NetHealth workshop organized by Ashwini Appaji and Divyashikha Sethia, and a new workshop on Standards-driven research organised by Jean-Pierre Bienaime, Puneet Jain, Vinosh Babu James, and Arzad Alam Kherani. There will also be four tutorials on Ultra-Low-Power Wi-Fi connectivity via Backscatter Communication: Theory, Protoypes to Integrated Circuits by Dinesh Bharadia, Engineering Network in the Sky: Challenges and Potential by Karthikeyan Sundaresan, Secure Positioning in Wireless Systems by Mridula Singh and Aanjhan Ranganathan, and P4 Language and Programmable Data Planes by Praveen Tammana, Rinku Shah, and Venkannu U. Additionally, COMSJOB is also being organized by Prasant Misra, which is a focused event that seeks to bring together top companies in the field with the best and brightest students (BTech, MTech, PhD, and Post-Doc). COMSJOB aims to assist with both open full-time positions, and as well as fixed-duration internships.

**Sponsors and Partners:** Our sponsorship chairs, Giridhar Mandyam and Rajeev Shorey have managed to raise a record sponsorship amount for the conference thanks to generous support from our corporate patrons: platinum sponsor TCS Research, gold patrons Qualcomm and Murty Foundation, silver patrons, Cisco, Google, Skymount, and Arista, bronze patrons Microsoft, Singapore Management University (SMU), Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO), Glaukes Labs and Plaksha University.

We are grateful to our technical partners TSDSI, conference WiFi partner ARISTA Networks, video partner VideoKen, publication partner Elsevier, and our university partners: Indian Institute of Science, IIT Delhi, IIT Bombay, IIT Hyderabad, IIT Kharagpur, IIT Madras, IIT Kanpur, IIIT Hyderabad, IIIT Delhi, IIIT Bangalore, DA-IICT, BMSCE, UPenn – USA, SMU – Sungapore, KAIST – South Korea, Carnegie Mellon University – USA, Louisiana State University – USA, and Plaksha University.

COMSNETS 2022 is technically co-sponsored by the IEEE, IEEE Communications Society, MeitY, DRDO and is presented in-cooperation with ACM, ACM SIGCOMM, ACM SIGMOBILE. The travel grants provided by ACM SIGCOMM, ACM SIGMOBILE, LRN Foundation, and the COMSNETS Association enabled many students to attend the conference. We are grateful to all of these organizations for their support.

Acknowledgements: Last but not the least, we thank our steering committee, Uday Desai, Giridhar Mandyam, Rajeev Shorey, and G. Venkatesh. We would especially like to call out the dedication of Giridhar Mandyam and Rajeev Shorey, who go above and beyond the work of steering committee and dedicate their heart and soul in sustaining and improving COMSNETS year after year. We are also thankful to our international advisory committee, S. K. Marwah, Tulika Pandey, B. M. Baveja, Pamela Kumar, Prashant Pillai, and Dah Ming Chiu. Finally, we would like to wholeheartedly thank the many student volunteers who have made COMSNETS 2022 possible. Their hard work and perseverance have been instrumental to the smooth organization of this instance of the conference.

## General Co-Chairs



Rajesh Krishna Balan
Singapore Management University,
Singapore



Pamela Kumar TSDSI, India



Rahul Mangharam
University of Pennsylvania, USA